Home » California’s Minimum Wage Increases On Jan. 1
West

California’s Minimum Wage Increases On Jan. 1

california

Last updated on June 14th, 2024 at 09:46 am

The Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) is reminding California’s employers and workers that, effective Jan. 1, the state’s minimum wage will increase to $10 per hour.

“This increase in the minimum wage is California’s second increase in 16 months. Those earning minimum wage will now have a bit more to take home every paycheck,” said Labor Commissioner Julie Su.

The Labor Commissioner’s Office is a division of DIR.

Gov. Jerry Brown signed legislation on Sept. 25, 2013, raising California’s minimum wage to $9 per hour on July 1, 2014, with a final adjustment to $10 per hour on Jan. 1, 2016. It marked the first increase in California’s hourly minimum since 2008, when the minimum wage was raised 50 cents to $8.

State law requires employers to post information on wages, hours and working conditions at a worksite area accessible to employees. Notices for the wage orders in English and Spanish can be downloaded and printed from the Workplace postings page on the DIR website.

Nearly all employees in California must be paid the minimum wage as required by state law. Workers who are paid less than the minimum wage may file a wage claim with the Labor Commissioner’s office.

About the author

Shelby Team

The Shelby Report delivers complete grocery news and supermarket insights nationwide through the distribution of five monthly regional print and digital editions. Serving the retail food trade since 1967, The Shelby Report is “Region Wise. Nationwide.”

Featured Photos

Featured Photo IDDBA Annual Convention
George R. Brown Convention Center
Houston, TX