Home » FMI Recognizes Three Executives With Leadership Awards
Executive News National Operations

FMI Recognizes Three Executives With Leadership Awards

FMI awards screenshot

The Food Marketing Institute (FMI) recognized the achievements of three leaders over the weekend during the group’s foundation gala and industry awards dinner at the FMI Midwinter Executive Conference in Miami.

FMI presented the following food retail industry executives with individual honors:

• Fred Morganthall, EVP of retail operations, The Kroger Co., recipient of the FMI Sidney R. Rabb Award for Statesmanship.

This award is given for excellence in serving the consumer, the community and the industry. As a long-time industry leader and chief executive of The Stop and Shop Supermarket Co., Rabb was a role model for statesmanship and community service, recognizing the industry’s higher purpose in serving society.

“Fred embodies the spirit of collaboration and visionary inspiration needed in our industry, as we work to achieve a greater goal of feeding families and enriching lives,” said FMI President and CEO Leslie G. Sarasin.

• Jerry Kehe, chairman of the board, KeHE Distributors, recipient of the FMI Herbert Hoover Award for Humanitarian Service.

This award is given for humanitarian service in the food industry. The award was established in 1961 in honor of Herbert Hoover, 31st president of the United States, inspired by humanitarian campaigns he led working with the food industry.

“Jerry believes in the inherent right of people to access safe, nutritious and affordable food, and the spirit of compassion with which he puts those values into action, means he embodies the very essence of the Hoover award,” said Sarasin.

• Sandy Douglas, EVP, The Coca-Cola Co., and president, Coca-Cola North America, recipient of the FMI William H. Albers Award for Business Collaboration.

This award is given for excellence in trading partner relations and consumer and community service. A supermarket pioneer, Albers served as the first chairman of the board of directors of the Super Market Institute, one of FMI’s predecessor associations, from 1937-1944.

“Sandy is a stalwart champion and courageous leader of industry causes; he willingly takes on the thorniest issues within our supply chain and continues working on them with candor and transparency until he and those on the journey with him find the rose at the end of the stem,” said Sarasin.

At the gala event, the Grocery Manufacturers Association also presented its 2016 Industry Collaboration Leadership Award to Hy-Vee Chairman, President and CEO Randy Edeker. Read more about that award here.

Find photos from the gala here.

About the author

Kristen Cloud

A former newspaper editor and publisher, she once enjoyed leisurely perusing the grocery store aisles but, since having a baby in 2016, she is now an enthusiastic click-and-collect shopper.

How can my business benefit from omnichannel marketing and attribution?

Inmar Intelligence explains what omnichannel really means and why it matters to retailers.

Learn More

Featured Photos

Featured Photo Ribbon Cutting and Community Celebration
Viera, Florida
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap