Association News Executive News Produce Produce News Southwest

H-E-B’s Zetzsche To Chair 2019-20 PMA Board Of Directors

PMA logo, directors

The 2019-20 Produce Marketing Association (PMA) board of directors took office Oct. 17 during PMA’s 2019 Fresh Summit Convention & Expo in Anaheim, California. New Chair Joe Don Zetzsche, director of floral and Blooms for H-E-B, joined the board with six other officers and 32 directors.

“I am excited for the opportunity to collaborate with a diverse group of female and male industry leaders from around the global on the PMA Board, which includes representation from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Mexico, New Zealand and South Africa,” said Zetzsche during his address at Fresh Summit. “It will be through the thought partnership of the board, which spans multiple geographies and ethnicities, that I promise we will deliver more value to members in the year ahead.”

In addition to Zetzsche, officers elected to the 2019-20 PMA board include:

  • Chair-elect: Dwight Ferguson, CEO and president, Naturipe Farms LLC, Salinas, California
  • Secretary-treasurer: Doug Grant, EVP and COO, The Oppenheimer Group, British Columbia, Canada
  • Past chair: David Marguleas, CEO, Sun World LLC, Coachella, California
  • Vice chair: Jacob Krempel, director of produce and grocery procurement, HelloFresh, New York, New York
  • Vice chair: Ruth McLennan, VP-produce/floral/cold storage, Dairy Farm, Quarry Bay, Hong Kong
  • Center for growing talent board chair: Marty Craner, CEO, B&C Fresh Sales, Orange, California

“PMA is blessed to have a strongly engaged and invested group of volunteers from across the global produce and floral communities—ranging from our board of directors to numerous committees and task forces—to help guide and influence our strategic priorities,” said PMA CEO Cathy Burns. “I am incredibly excited to work with the new Board as we continue to deliver new member value throughout the year ahead.”

The following industry leaders will serve on the 2019-20 PMA board of directors:

  • Joe Ange, purchasing director, Markon Cooperative, Salinas, California
  • Maggie Bezart-Hall, sales and marketing, La Bonanza Avocados, Bath, Michigan
  • Giampaolo Buso, sales director, PariPassu, Florianopolis, SC, Brazil
  • Jim Byron, CEO, Xgenex LLC, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
  • Tatiana Castro Perez, VP of marketing, PPC Flexible Packaging, Miami
  • Adam Cooper, SVP of marketing, The Wonderful Co., Los Angeles
  • Lisa Cork, owner/director, Fresh Produce Marketing Ltd., Auckland, New Zealand
  • Christian Corssen, CEO, Compania Frutera Santa Maria S.A., Santiago Province, Chile
  • Adrielle Dankier, commercial director, Nature’s Pride, Maasdijk, Holland
  • Trevor Dukes, CEO, The Fruit Farm Group, Stellenbosch, South Africa
  • Karen Fernald, SVP of category, merchandising and pricing, Food Lion, Salisbury, North Carolina
  • Michael Franks, CEO, Seeka Limited, Te Puke, New Zealand; PMA Australia-New Zealand Chair
  • Laura Himes, senior buyer, Walmart, Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
  • Eric Li, VP of global sourcing and alliance, Shanghai Yiguo E-Commerce Co., Ltd., Shanghai City, China
  • Jenny Maloney, US food chain/sustainability manager, Bayer CropScience, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina
  • Elizabeth Nardi, CEO, Organically Grown Co., Portland, Oregon
  • Juliet Olivarria, VP of produce, Sysco, Houston, Texas
  • Scot Olson, president of North/Northwest Division, Fresh Source, Santa Ana, California
  • Carlos Oramas, CEO, Gems Group, Inc., Miami, Florida
  • Marc Oshima, co-founder and CMO, Aero Farms, Newark, New Jersey
  • Roberto Salazar Perez, deputy perishable director, Calimax, Tijuana, Mexico
  • Don Sanderson, group VP of fresh merchandising, Meijer, Walker, Michigan
  • Angela Santiago, CEO, The Little Potato Co., Alberta, Canada
  • Reade Sievert, VP of corporate produce, Associated Wholesale Grocers, Kansas City, Kansas
  • Michael Simonetta, CEO, Perfection Fresh, Sydney, Australia
  • Debora Steier, VP of floral, Albertsons Companies, Boise, Idaho
  • Wyard Stomp, VP of sales and marketing, Driscoll’s, Watsonville, California
  • Dan Sun, co-founder, EcoQuest, Fremont, California
  • Ted Taylor, head of new ventures and business development, Taylor Farms, Salinas, California
  • Patrick Vizzone, head of food, beverage and agribusiness, ANZ Banking Group, Melbourne, Australia
  • Mau Wah Liu, chairman of the group, Joy Wing Mau Group, Shenzhen, China
  • Gary York, VP of sales and marketing, Robinson Fresh, Eden Prairie, Minnesota

Eight board members concluded their term of service and retired from the board, including:

  • Bryant Ambelang, president and CEO, NatureSweet LTD, San Antonio, Texas
  • Andrew Kennedy, co-founder, FoodLogiQ, Durham, North Carolina
  • Tommie van Zyl, CEO, ZZ2, Limpopo, South Africa
  • Kurt Vetter, president, Wonderful Sales, Los Angeles, California
  • Jin Ju Wilder, director of marketing, LA & SF Specialty, Santa Fe Springs, California
  • Gary Wishnatzki, president/CEO, Wish Farms, Plant City, Florida

Featured Photos

Featured Photo

Featured Video

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap