Association News West

C&S Wholesale Grocers’ Miller Elected Chair Of CGA Board Of Directors

Phil Miller
Phil Miller

Phil Miller, VP of the west region for C&S Wholesale Grocers, was elected the 2019-2020 California Grocers Association (CGA) chair of the board of directors at the association’s annual meeting on Dec. 6 in San Diego, California.

As chair, Miller will lead the board’s strategy regarding CGA’s numerous legislative, educational, communications and industry-related programs. The association is comprised of more than 300 retail companies operating more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada. The chair serves for one year. He succeeds immediate past chair Kendra Doyel of Ralphs Grocery Co.

“Phil has been a tremendous CGA advocate and I know will serve the association well in the coming year,” said CGA president and CEO Ron Fong. “He has a keen understanding of the unique challenges and opportunities facing our industry.”

Also elected to the 2019-2020 CGA board of directors executive committee were: first vice chair, Hee-Sook Nelson, Gelson’s Markets; second vice chair, Renee Amen, Super A Foods; treasurer, Dennis Darling, Foods Etc.; secretary, Lynn Melillo, Bristol Farms; and immediate past chair, Kendra Doyel, Ralphs Grocery Co.

Directors elected to their first full three-year term include: Doug Christman, Beverages & More Inc.; Sergio Gonzalez, Northgate Gonzalez Markets; Bryan Jankans, Mondelēz International; Joe Mueller, Kellogg Co.; Subriana Pierce, Navigator Sales & Marketing; Chris Podesto, Food 4 Less-Stockton/Rancho San Miguel; Jaclyn Rosenberg, Nielsen; Jeff Schmiege, Unilever; and Greg Sheldon, Anheuser-Busch InBev.

Directors elected to their second three-year term include: Willie Crocker, Bimbo Bakeries USA; Damon Franzia, Classic Wines of California; Jonathan Mayes, Albertsons Cos. Inc.; Doug Minor, Numero Uno Market Inc.; Mike Ridenour, The Kraft Heinz Co.; Elliott Stone, Mollie Stone’s Markets; Joe Toscano, Nestlé Purina Petcare; and Richard Wardwell, Superior Grocers.

Chair appointments to the executive committee include; Denny Belcastro, Kimberly-Clark Corp.; Steve Dietz, United Natural Foods Inc.; and Casey McQuaid, E&J Gallo Winery. Former CGA Chair Bob Parriott of Twain Harte Market was elected an honorary board member.

Featured Photos

Featured Photo

Featured Video

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap