Home » Food City Recognizes 100-Plus Associates For Volunteerism
Corporate Store News Home Page Slider Nonfood Items Southeast

Food City Recognizes 100-Plus Associates For Volunteerism

Food City Claude Varney award associates

Through its Claude P. Varney Volunteer Recognition Program, Abingdon, Virginia-based Food City recently recognized more than 100 associates for their volunteerism.

“As a company, we strive to maintain a high level of dedication to service, quality, value and community involvement, while providing a work environment that enables our associates to grow both personally and professionally as successful members of the team,” said Steven C. Smith, president and CEO.

After he attended a June 2002 White House meeting geared toward boosting national volunteerism through corporate support, Smith oversaw the creation of the volunteer recognition program named in memory of Varney, the company’s former president and board vice chairman.

Throughout his 47-year career, Varney brought foresight and knowledge to Food City and the grocery industry as a whole but was most noted for his compassion and humanitarian services.

“Many of our associates volunteer their time and talents to numerous service organizations throughout the areas in which we operate, and we feel it’s needful to recognize the valuable services and support they provide,” Smith said.

Special committees are established each year to review associate volunteer activities and select award recipients based on achievement in the areas of health, education, environment, cultural arts, recreational, heritage/history and public service. One overall winner is selected from each store location and corporate levels. 

The following individual store winners were selected:


Ralph Arp, Store 206, Rossville; Sonmiria Baltazar Pintor, Store 249, Fort Oglethorpe; Emma Barton, Store 233, Trenton; Haley Byers, Store 252, LaFayette; Shantel Rogers, Store 211, Dalton; Jean Cantrell, Store 230, Chatsworth; Shkayia Painter, Store 217, Rossville; and David Smith, Store 214, Ringgold.


Bernard Adams, Store 468, Cumberland; Kimberly Adams, Super Dollar Store 2457, Prestonsburg; Amanda Adkins, Super Dollar Store 2446, Pikeville; Shannon Adkins, Store 475, Pikeville; Joseph Bailey, Store 425, South Williamson; Doris Ann Banks, Store 436, Whitesburg; Kyle Bradley, Store 471, Prestonsburg; James Howard, Store 458, Pikeville; Michael Middleton, Store 437, Harlan; Sylvia Napier, Store 438, Hazard; Dominic Proffitt, Store 428, Middlesboro; William Stewart, Store 424, Paintsville; and Renee’ Ward, Store 433, Louisa.


Tony Baretta, Store 668, Sevierville; Cindy Barnes, Store 710, East Ridge; Jackie Bell, Store 647, Maryville; Brenda Benn, Store 716, Chattanooga; Antonio Bonner, Store 735, Chattanooga; Kelci Bradley, Store 631, Loudon; Laura Brown, Store 618, White Pine; Raven Campbell, Store 674, Knoxville; Addison Carson, Store 661, Lafollette; Kevin Carter, Store 605, Newport; Michael Cate, Store 667, Sevierville; Gregory Coats, Store 726, Chattanooga; Dwight Cook, Store 602, Morristown; Pam A. Clifton, Store 603, Church Hill; Terrie Daugherty, Store 607, Morristown; Paul Deal, Store 703, Hixson; Morgan DePriest, Store 629, Johnson City; Sarah Fennell, Store 619, Blaine; Ashley Ferrell, Store 701, Chattanooga; Sandra P. Flanary, Store 657, Kingsport; Todd French, Store 612, Rogersville; Ryan Froelich, Store 611, Gatlinburg; Loni Garcia, Store 664, Kingsport; Rosemary Gendreau, Store 682, Knoxville; Edward S. Green, Store 670, Gray; Camryn Halcomb, Store 614, Newport; Teresa Hall, Store 642, Oliver Springs; Dorraine Harless, Store 626, Alcoa; Angie Harmon, Store 654, Clinton; Patience Harmon, Store 688, Knoxville; Morgan Harville, Store 645, Tazewell; Brenda Hawkins, Store 617, Bristol; Dewey Hembree, Store 672, Knoxville; Brenda Hunter, Store 651, Maryville; Caity Jenkins, Store 622, Bristol; Paul Krueger, Store 632, Loudon; Ricky Landers, Store 606, Greeneville; Edward Large, Store 655, Knoxville; John A. Laster, Store 608, Greeneville; Lorena Lopez, Store 610, Pigeon Forge; Tia Mashburn, Store 681, Oak Ridge; Valerie Melton, Store 743, Cleveland; Crystal Minnick, Store 634, Harriman; Adam Morgan, Store 712, Cleveland; Linda Morrow, Store 686, Athens; Melissa Nabors, Store 653, Kingston; Mona Napier, Store 679, Powell; Brandon Nation, Store 774, Ooltewah; Zoie Nolan, Store 601, Johnson City; Michelle Novack, Store 630, Dandridge; Hubert Ogle, Store 678, Knoxville; Kathy Ogle, Store 609, Kodak; Kaitlyn Osborne, Store 641, Johnson City; Elijah Parker, Store 773, Ooltewah; Rocky Peeler, Store 640, Jonesborough; Wesley Petty, Store 650, Lenoir City; David Harold Plummer, Store 699, Piney Flats; Michael Pody, Store 738, Soddy Daisy; Judith Powers, Store 616, Knoxville; Debbie Reed, Store 644, Seymour; Stephanie Reed, Store 724, Dayton; Jessica Richey, Store 685, Knoxville; Howard Robb, Store 662, Crossville; Steve Roberts, Store 715, Chattanooga; Braeden Sellers, Store 625, Erwin; Benjamin Nicholas Shults, Store 604, Newport; David Simmons, Store 706, Chattanooga; Quinton Skaggs, Store 669, Blountville; Gregory Skinner, Store 646, Morristown; Victoria Sloan, Store 620, Vonore; Kevona Starks, Store 694, Knoxville; Sonya Stockinger, Super Dollar Store 2619, Rogersville; Zachary Thornton, Store 676, Knoxville; Madison Tuck, Store 747, Etowah; Cardiela Vickery, Store 663, Greeneville; Anthony Wallace, Store 687, Knoxville; Rosline Waller, Store 677, Knoxville; Helen Whitman, Store 615, Jefferson City; Sierra Williams, Store 713, Hixson; Chance Wilson, Store 727, Red Bank; and Melanie Wojciechowski, Store 656, Crossville.


Chris Alley, Store 852, Bluefield; Ashley Bourne, Store 827, Cedar Bluff; Emily Browning, Store 892, Clintwood; Charles Church, Store 859, Pulaski; Tara Dishner, Store 895, Pennington Gap; Maria Durham, Store 891, Big Stone Gap; Clyde Gamble, Store 890, Lebanon; Kyle Geffers, Store 860, Damascus; Amanda Greear, Store 893, Coeburn; Camden Hillman, Store 823, Abingdon; Brenda Johnson, Store 898, Wise; Barbara Kirkland, Store 848, Marion; Matthew LeMarr—Super Dollar Store 896, Rose Hill; Gergana Manis, Store 82, Weber City; Laura Midkiff—Super Dollar Store 2801, 2843 Grundy; Ann McCormack, Store 816, Bristol; Evie McCoy, Store 821, Bristol; Sue Patton, Store 865, Galax; Jayme Salyers, Store 897, St. Paul; and Rick Shuler, Store 849, Chilhowie.

Store winners will move on to compete at the district level, where 12 winners are recognized with an award and a $250 contribution to their choice charity during a corporate luncheon. 

Two divisional winners are then chosen and honored with a plaque and a $750 charity contribution. One overall winner is selected to receive the Claude P. Varney Humanitarian Award, with a $1,250 charity contribution made on his or her behalf.

“We’re extremely proud of the difference our associates make through their many humanitarian contributions,” Smith said. “Our company is wholly committed to providing exceptional service to the citizens and communities in which we operate and ensuring our associates have the support they need to become the best corporate citizens possible.”

Featured Photos

Featured Photo ROFDA Spring Conference
Renaissance Esmeralda
Indian Wells, CA