COVID-19 Southeast

Publix, State Of Florida Expand COVID Vaccinations To 5 More Counties

Publix COVID-19 vaccine

Publix, in collaboration with Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis, will begin providing COVID‑19 vaccinations in five additional counties and The Villages in Marion County starting Thursday, Jan. 14. The expansion comes as DeSantis has provided Publix with additional doses of the Moderna vaccine to be administered to individuals ages 65 and older.

With this announcement, Publix is adding 27 pharmacies to the list of those currently offering vaccinations, bringing the total number of Publix pharmacies offering COVID-19 vaccinations to 49.

“For 90 years, Publix has served its customers and communities in times of need,” said Publix CEO Todd Jones. “Our ability to provide these vaccinations to Florida’s 65-and-older population is a privilege. We are grateful to Gov. DeSantis for his willingness to work with us to serve our communities.”

Vaccinations are provided to eligible individuals, by appointment only, while supplies last and at no cost to the individual. Appointments can be made using the online reservation system at beginning Wednesday, Jan. 13. Customers with health insurance will need to bring their insurance card to their scheduled appointment. Customers without health insurance will need to provide their driver’s license or Social Security number.

Publix Pharmacy will administer the COVID-19 vaccine at the 22 current locations in Citrus, Hernando and Marion counties, as well as at 27 locations in Bay, Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa and Walton counties, and The Villages in Marion County.

This expansion comes after the company received and distributed its first shipment of vaccines.

Publix continues to communicate with the state of Florida and the other six states in its operating area to provide COVID-19 vaccinations as part of their distribution efforts.

The largest employee-owned company in the U.S. with more than 225,000 associates, Lakeland, Florida-based Publix currently operates 1,264 stores in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee, South Carolina, North Carolina and Virginia.

Featured Photos

Featured Photo

Featured Video

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap