Oregon Becomes Fifth State To Raise Smoking Age To 21


Oregon on Aug. 9 became the fifth state to prohibit the sale of tobacco products to anyone under age 21 as Gov. Kate Brown signed the measure into law. The legislature approved the bill in July.

Tobacco 21 laws also have been enacted by California, Hawaii, New Jersey, Maine and at least 255 cities and counties, including New York City, Chicago, Boston, Cleveland, St. Louis and both Kansas Cities. Massachusetts lawmakers are expected approve similar legislation.

About The Author

A former newspaper editor and publisher who has handled digital duties for The Shelby Report since 2011. She once enjoyed leisurely perusing the grocery store aisles but, since having a baby in 2016, is now an enthusiastic click-and-collect shopper.