Home » FIANY Chief Receives N.G.A. Association Leadership Award
National Northeast

FIANY Chief Receives N.G.A. Association Leadership Award

Northeast Grocery News
Peter Larkin, president and CEO of N.G.A., presents the Association Leadership Award to Jim Rogers, president and CEO of the Food Industry Alliance of New York.

Last updated on September 6th, 2012 at 11:13 am

by Millie Adcox/staff writer

Jim Rogers, president and CEO of the Food Industry Alliance of New York (FIANY), received the National Grocers Association (N.G.A.) 2011 Association Leadership Award March 30 at the Washington Public Policy Conference hosted by N.G.A., the Food Marketing Institute (FMI) and Food Industry Association Executives (FIAE) in Washington, D.C.

“Jim’s dedication to his members and his commitment to the continued success of the independent grocer is an example for us all,” said Peter Larkin, president and CEO of N.G.A. “As a member of the N.G.A. board of directors, Jim’s leadership and insight has been an asset not only to his fellow board members, but importantly to the membership of N.G.A.”

Rogers told The Shelby Report that the award means a lot to him.

“I have always measured an award by the organization granting it and its past recipients. On both counts, I am truly honored,” he said. “My thanks to N.G.A. for recognizing not only me but also the important role of the state grocer associations as evidenced by this award. My colleagues in the states do a remarkable job in protecting and safeguarding the industry and this award pays tribute to their work.”

According to N.G.A., Rogers’ accomplishments over the years at FIANY are many and include reform of New York’s item pricing law and curbing attempts to expand bottle laws. Last year his team protected merchants by fighting off an attempt by Visa to pass a bill that would have prohibited surcharges on debit card transactions.

Rogers and his staff continue the fight for all supermarkets to be able to better serve their customers by selling wine in their stores.

“Jim’s focus is always on fighting what is best for his members and New York’s supermarket industry. The entire supermarket industry is fortunate to have an advocate like Jim,” Larkin said.

Past recipients of this award include Jerry Fleagle, president of the Iowa Grocery Industry Association; Kathy Siefken, executive director of the Nebraska Grocery Industry Association; Jim Olsen, past president and CEO of the Utah Food Industry Association and current president of FIAE; and Tom Jackson, president and CEO of the Ohio Grocers Association.

Featured Photos

Featured Photo PLMA Annual Private Label Trade Show
Donald E. Stephens Convention Center
Chicago, Illinois
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap