Home » Three Industry Leaders To Be Inducted Into Frozen Food HOF

Three Industry Leaders To Be Inducted Into Frozen Food HOF

NFRA logo

The American Frozen Food Institute (AFFI) and the National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Association (NFRA) have announce that the Distinguished Order of Zerocrats has selected three food industry leaders as the 2012 Frozen Food Hall of Fame inductees.

The 2012 inductees are Nevin B. Montgomery, retired president/CEO of NFRA; Dr. H. Reid Wagstaff, retired VP of government and environmental affairs for J.M. Smucker Co.; and the late Benjamin Zdatny, former vice chairman/COO of the Di Giorgio Corp. The inductees will be honored at the Grand Awards Reception & Banquet on Tuesday, Oct. 9, at the National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Convention in Washington, D.C. The event will begin at 5:30 p.m. at the Marriott Wardman Park.

Montgomery joined NFRA as director of membership in 1973 when it was the National Frozen Food Association. He served as director of education, VP and EVP prior to being named president in 1984. During his tenure as president, Montgomery established the financial stability of the association and met its goal of having one year of operating expenses in reserve. Under his leadership, NFFA launched the first National Frozen Food Month in 1984 establishing the association’s promotional focus. In 2001, Montgomery embraced the organization’s need to evolve as refrigerated dairy products became an integral part of the association, renaming NFFA as the National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Association. He remained president/CEO of NFRA until his retirement in 2010.

Wagstaff joined the J.M. Smucker Co. at its Salinas, Calif., plant in 1976 to handle environmental waste issues at its West Coast plants. He later worked as director of fruit procurement and was promoted to the position of VP of government and environmental affairs in 1984 where he worked closely with trade associations in Washington, D.C. Wagstaff is a past chairman of AFFI and served on the boards of many other organizations including the California Strawberry Commission, International Jelly and Preserve Association, America’s Second Harvest, the Frozen Food Foundation, and chaired the environmental committee of the Grocery Manufacturer’s Association. Wagstaff previously served in the U.S. Air Force as an aerial photo interpreter.

Zdatny established in the early 1950s the Service Frozen Food Industry, which supplied frozen foods to retailers in the greater New York area. He later sold the company to the Di Giorgio Corp., where it became the White Rose Co. Zdatny left Di Giorgio for a short time to become the president of Weight Watchers where he successfully developed a line of frozen and ice cream novelty products. In 1974, he returned to White Rose as president and, in 1984, he became chairman of White Rose and vice chairman/COO of Di Giorgio. Zdatny was active with the Eastern Frosted Foods Association and previously served on the board of NFRA. He was vice chairman and partner of Nova Foods, a marketing and management consultancy in Chicago, before his death in 1995.

The Distinguished Order of Zerocrats is an organization of industry members whose mission is to maintain the tradition of promoting the image and advancement of the frozen food industry. The Zerocrats established the Frozen Food Hall of Fame in 1990 to honor individuals who have helped shape the industry with their hard work and dedication. Members of the Zerocrats nominate and vote on the newest inductees, and a special industry-wide ceremony honors the imagination and innovation that have ensured the continued success of the frozen food industry.


Featured Photos

Featured Photo PLMA Annual Private Label Trade Show
Donald E. Stephens Convention Center
Chicago, Illinois
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap