Home » 13 Inducted Into Candy Hall Of Fame, Top New Products Recognized

13 Inducted Into Candy Hall Of Fame, Top New Products Recognized

candy induction

Last updated on October 25th, 2013 at 10:42 am

The National Confectionery Sales Association (NCSA) honored 13 industry veterans with induction into the Candy Hall of Fame during a black-tie gala Oct. 19. More than 360 attended, a record for the event in Tampa, Fla.

The inductees include Russell Berg of E.A. Berg Associates; Robert Boutin of Knechtel Inc.; Robert Edelheit of Hanson Faso Sales & Marketing Inc.; Larry Graham of the NCA; Pat Huffman of The Warrell Corp.; Michael Koch of Morley Candy Makers/Sanders Candy; Keith McDaniel of Wythe Will Tzetzo LLC; Michael Rainey of Liberty Orchards Co. Inc.; Michael Rosenberg of The Promotion In Motion Cos. Inc.; John Scardina of Eby-Brown Co. LLC; Leo Tanis of Tanis Confectionery; and Dennis Witzel of Dennis Witzel Sales & Consulting.

Inducted posthumously was William Luden, founder of the Luden’s throat drop brand.

“Thank you to the NCSA for their amazing recognition of William Luden—being elected to the Candy Hall of Fame is a very sweet honor,” said Albert Hwang, VP of marketing for Luden’s and Prestige Brands. “I’m sure he would have been awed not only by this great attention, but also by how far his idea has grown in the 130 years since Luden’s was created. William Luden’s product and name have become an American institution, an achievement that only comes by building consumer and retailer trust in your brand over time.”

William Luden started his business by distributing his throat lozenges to railroad workers who were building the country’s new railway lines. Word spread fast and, by the early 1880s, Luden had built three new factories to meet demand for his lozenges and expanded his product line to include candy.

Michael Gilmore

In addition, the NCSA recognized the industry dedication of Michael Gilmore, VP of business development for Ferrara Candy Co. Inc., honoring him with its Distinguished Service Medal. The 2001 Candy Hall of Famer received the award for his years of service and hard work on behalf of the association.

Gilmore has worked in the industry for more than 40 years, holding positions of management for Standard Brands Inc. He also served as CEO for Rowntree Ltd. USA in the 1980s and held the positions of COO and director of Ferrero USA Inc. from 1988 until his retirement in 2007. Gilmore served as NCSA president from 2007-09 and chairman from 2009-11. Additionally, he was chairman of the National Confectioners Association in 2009 and 2010.

Mark Antonucci, NCSA chairman, said, “This award recognizes Michael’s outstanding service to the NCSA. As president, and later chairman, he led from the front, helping the association transition through a challenging period. He was instrumental in advocating long-term plans and adherence to the principles of the Candy Hall of Fame.”

In accepting the award, Gilmore thanked industry colleagues.

“Having now spent more than 40 years in this great industry, I have been blessed to have worked with and befriended many individuals,” he said. “They have been truly inspiring to me in my work and leadership roles, as they give tirelessly to improving the industry and raising the tides of the confectionery category globally.”

Best new products awarded

The association also honored top product introductions with its annual New Product Awards, recognizing innovation in six categories. Winners received crystal trophies.

The winner in the Chocolate category was Snickers Bites from Mars Chocolate North America, with certificates awarded to Rocky Road S’mores from Annabelle Candy Co. Inc., Rolo Minis from The Hershey Co., and Bonomo Vanilla Taffy Nibbles from The Warrell Corp.

Tabasco Bottles by Jelly Belly Candy Co. took the top honor in the Licensed/Limited Edition category. Flix Candy/Imaginings 3 Inc. received a certificate for its Klondike The Candy Chocolate Bar, as did CandyRific LLC for its Mickey Mouse Clubhouse Helicopter Fan and Haribo of America Inc. for its Smurfs Gummies.

Winning in the Non-Chocolate category was Twizzlers Bites from The Hershey Co., while Airhead Bites from Perfetti Van Melle Inc., Peeps Bubble Gum Chicks from Just Born Inc., and Juicy Gold-Bears from Haribo of America Inc. were honored with certificates.

Mars won in the Snack category for its 7-Layer Dip Combos. Snack products receiving certificates of achievement were Salted Caramel Brownie Brittle from Brownie Brittle LLC, Fiery Tomato Baked Lentil Chips from The Mediterranean Snack Food Co., Japon Japanese-Style Peanuts from Dos Amigos Inc., and Salty Date & Almond Raincoast Crisps from Lesley Stowe Fine Foods Ltd.

In the Premium/Gourmet category Lindor Caramel Milk Chocolate Truffles from Lindt & Sprüngli (USA) Inc. won the crystal trophy, while Dove Mint & Dark Chocolate Swirl from Mars, Celebration Shimmer Teddy Bears from SweetWorks Inc., and the Cravemmm! line from The Warrell Corp. took home certificates.

The winner in the Seasonal category was Warheads Super Sour Candy Canes from Impact Confections Inc. Honored with certificates were Cherry Flavored Peeps Dipped & Drizzled in Chocolate from Just Born Inc., Color Your Own Sweetheart boxes from New England Confectionery Co. Inc., Twix Eggs from Mars, and Tool and Make-Up Kit sets from R.M. Palmer Co.

In the feature photo at top: (front row from left) Michael Rosenberg, Robert Boutin, Michael Koch, Russell Berg and Dennis Witzel; (back row) Robert Edelheit, Larry Graham, Keith McDaniel, Leo Tanis, Pat Huffman, Michael Rainey and John Scardina.



Featured Photos

Featured Photo PLMA Annual Private Label Trade Show
Donald E. Stephens Convention Center
Chicago, Illinois
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap