Home » Save Mart Names Store Manager Of The Year
Store News West

Save Mart Names Store Manager Of The Year

SaveMart—Store Manager

Last updated on January 17th, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Save Mart, S-Mart Foods, Lucky, Maxx Value Foods and FoodMaxx stores have honored George Bettencourt, manager of Save Mart in Ceres, Calif., with the Nicholas J. Tocco Store Manager of the Year Award. This is the 20th year of the company’s award.

“George Bettencourt is a top-rate store manager. He has demonstrated a continuous commitment to excellence for store performance, customer service and commitment to his community. He is a strong leader and great person,” said Steve Junqueiro, president and COO of Save Mart Supermarkets.

Bettencourt started his grocery career at an Albertsons store in 1986, working his way up from utility clerk to store manager. Married for 13 years, he is involved in the Turlock and Ceres communities. Bettencourt says he is passionate about running a store strong on the basics—service, freshness and value.

“Ceres is a tight-knit community and I am proud to be part of its fabric. Our shoppers are also our neighbors and friends. This award was given to me, but it also belongs to the store team who works hard every day to provide top-level customer service,” said Bettencourt.

During the company’s annual management appreciation gala on Saturday, 10 nominees for the award were presented. Al Rojewski, Kingsburg Save Mart store manager, and Mike Cook, Lucky store manager in Oakley—were named first and second runners-up, respectively.

This year’s Nicholas J. Tocco nominees also included:

• Rich Alstad—Save Mart store on Pelandale Road in Modesto;

• Tony Angoletta—Save Mart store in Riverbank;

• John Bettencour—Lucky store on Portola Avenue in Livermore;

• David Gonzalez—Save Mart store on North Milburn in Fresno;

• Greg Gilliam—Save Mart store in Hollister;

• Kevin Miyasaki—Save Mart store on West Clinton in Fresno; and

• Greg Wagenman—Save Mart store on Geer Road in Turlock.

The Store Manager of the Year Award, presented by Save Mart Supermarkets owner and Chairman Bob Piccinini, was created in honor of the late Nicholas J. Tocco, co-founder of Save Mart Supermarkets. Nominees for the award must meet the company’s standards for store performance, customer service and community involvement. The winner receives an etched blown glass vase, travel certificate and cash. Runners-up receive a cash award, and all nominees receive a framed certificate.

In the feature photo at top: The 2014 Nicholas J. Tocco Award nominees are, from left: (front row) Rich Alstad, Mike Cook, George Bettencourt (winner), Al Rojewski and Kevin Miyasaki; (back row) Greg Wagenman, John Bettencourt, Steve Junquiero, David Gonzalez, Tony Angoletta and Greg Gilliam.

Featured Photos

Featured Photo PLMA Annual Private Label Trade Show
Donald E. Stephens Convention Center
Chicago, Illinois
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap