Home » NGA Shares FTC Policy Response, Discusses Association Awards
Association News National

NGA Shares FTC Policy Response, Discusses Association Awards

National Grocers Association "NGA" logo

The National Grocers Association has shared a statement to the Federal Trade Commission and has released information regarding the association’s awards and nomination pages.

NGA responded to the FTC policy statement expanding use of Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act to address unfair methods of competition.

Chris Jones, NGA SVP of government relations and counsel, issued the following statement: 

“NGA is encouraged by the FTC’s policy statement that price discrimination and abuses of market power, including violations of the Robinson-Patman Act, may violate section 5 of the FTC Act. In the generation that laws against economic discrimination have been ignored, dominant food retailers have grown bigger and bigger, taking advantage of their size to amass greater power, and in turn pressuring their suppliers and limiting customer options.

“We look forward to working closely with the FTC to ensure a diverse and competitively robust food retail marketplace that benefits stakeholders throughout the food supply chain, including independent community grocers, wholesalers, manufacturers, suppliers, farmers, and most importantly, consumers.”

The association also recently released that it is accepting nomination for three awards, to be given out during the 2023 NGA Show in Las Vegas. All nominations are due by Dec. 9. 

  • Thomas K. Zaucha Entrepreneurial Excellence Award, sponsored by Mondelez International:
    • The award created in 2009 to honor former NGA President and CEO Tom Zaucha’s legacy to the independent grocery industry. It recognizes an independent retailer that has shown persistence, vision and creative entrepreneurship throughout the past year. 
    • To submit someone for this award, click here
  • Peter J. Larkin Award for Community Service, sponsored by Kimberly-Clark:
    • Established in honor of NGA’s second president and CEO Peter Larkin’s retirement, this award recognizes an independent supermarket or wholesaler company for its dedication and commitment to their community.
    • To submit for this award, click here.
  • Woman of The Year, sponsored by Woman Grocers of America:
    • This award was established by the WGA Board of Directors in 1996 to provide visible support and recognition to outstanding women in the independent grocer industry. Nominees should exemplify characteristics of a leader with passion for the independent grocery industry, is a visionary who is an inspiration to others within her community and workplace, helps shape the face of her company or organization while distinguishing herself from her peers. 
    • Click here to learn more and submit a nomination.

To read more association news from The Shelby Report, click here.

Featured Photos

Featured Photo WAFC Convention
Gaylord Rockies Resort
Aurora, Colorado
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap