Home » CGA Names Darling As Incoming Board Chair
Association News Executive News West

CGA Names Darling As Incoming Board Chair

CGA Darling
Dennis Darling

Dennis Darling, owner of Foods Etc., was elected chair of the board of directors for the 2022-23 California Grocers Association at its annual meeting Dec. 1. 

As board chair, Darling will oversee CGA’s legislative, educational and industry-related programs. CGA is comprised of more than 350 retail companies, operating more than 6,000 stores in the West. The chair serves for one year. Darling succeeds Renee Amen, controller of Super A Foods. 

“Dennis has been integral to ushering our community of independent operators into the Association,” said Ron Fong, CGA president and CEO. “As an independent store owner himself, Dennis has a personal perspective and deep dedication to our industry, making him well-suited to lead our members through the upcoming year.” 

Darling and his wife, Ruth, have owned and operated Foods Etc. in Clearlake and Susanville, California, for 25 years. Along with chairing the board, Darling is also a member of CGA’s independent operators committee, which supports independent grocers in areas ranging from compliance to labor and employment. 

In addition to Darling, the following people were elected to the board’s executive committee: Lynn Melillo, Bristol Farms, was named first vice chair; Steve Dietz, UNFI, as second vice chair; Michel LeClerc, North State Grocery, was elected to treasurer; Richard Wardwell, Superior Grocers, as secretary; and Renee Amen, Super A Foods, has been named immediate past chair. 

Directors elected to their first full three-year team include: Brendan McAbee, Bimbo Bakeries USA; Karl Schroeder, Albertsons Cos.; Chris Dehoff, Dehoff’s Key Markets; Donovan Ford, Save Mart Supermarkets; Chang So, Hollister Super; Bertha Luna, Stater Bros. Markets; Adam Salgado, Cardenas Markets; Tim Mahoney, Gelson’s Markets; Brian Pohl, Classic Wines of California; and Tiffany Menyhart, the Kraft Heinz Co. 

Directors elected to their second three-year term include: Sergio Gonzalez, Northgate Markets; Bryan Jankans, Mondelez International; Joe Mueller, Kellogg Co.; Subriana Pierce, Navigator Sales and Marketing; Jeff Schmiege, Unilever; and Greg Sheldon, Anheuser-Busch InBev. 

Elliott Stone, Mollie Stone’s Markets, was appointed executive committee-IOC chair. Former CGA Chair Hee-Sook Alden was elected as an honorary board member.

Featured Photos

Featured Photo IDDBA Annual Convention
George R. Brown Convention Center
Houston, TX