Home » IFPA Announces Board Of Directors Slate For 2024
Association News National Produce News

IFPA Announces Board Of Directors Slate For 2024

IFPA 2024 board of directors

The International Fresh Produce Association has announced the slate of new officers and directors for the 2024 IFPA Board of Directors.

The volunteer leaders will be confirmed by a ballot shared with membership. This group will begin its board service at the 2023 Global Fresh Produce & Floral Show on Oct. 19-21 in Anaheim, California.

The IFPA Board of Directors is guided by the executive committee, which will be led in 2024 by current Chair-Elect John Anderson, chair, CEO and managing partner of Oppy. Current Board Chair Laura Himes, VP of sourcing – fresh for Walmart will assume the role of past board chair.

Both Anderson and Himes will take the stage in Anaheim at the Global Produce & Floral Show to share their reflections on IFPA accomplishments in 2023 and what members can expect from the organization in 2024.

Joining the executive committee are 2024 Chair-Elect Tammy DeBoer, president of Harris Teeter; Secretary-Treasurer Clint Lewis, CEO of AgroFresh Solutions Inc.; and two at-large executive committee members from the current board roster: current Fresh-Cut Processor Council Chair Judy Clark, CEO of Fresh Texas; and retiring Secretary-Treasurer Patrick Vizzone, managing director and head of agri-food and impact investment for Franklin Templeton Global Private Equity.

IFPA 2024 board of directors
IFPA Board Executive Committee

IFPA Foundation for Fresh Produce Chair Alex DiNovo, president and COO of DNO Produce, also joins the executive committee, succeeding current Foundation Chair Martha Hilton, VP of produce and floral merchandising for Wegman’s. Hilton will serve as a director on the IFPA Board.

“I’ve served on many industry volunteer leadership groups over the years, and this is, by far, one of the most diverse and wide-ranging boards I have ever had the pleasure of working with,” Anderson said.

“In order to grow IFPA members’ prosperity and move toward creating a vibrant future for all, it requires diversity of thought and representation. The incoming board will be a near 50-50 balance between male and female leadership and has a worldwide footprint in terms of companies that are U.S.-based, U.S.-based with global operations and those who are based entirely outside the U.S.

“I cannot wait to tackle the big issues facing our member community with this group. I greatly appreciate the contributions of the Leadership Development Committee, led by current Past Chair Bruce Taylor, for their diligence in collaborating with the board to develop the ballot and slate.”

The new board slate for 2024 is:

  • Brazil Council Chair – Alex Lee, commercial director, Rio Bonito Orgânicos, São Paulo, Brazil;
  • Grower-Shipper Council Chair – Mark Campion, president, Taylor Farms Retail, Salinas, California;
  • Foodservice Council Chair – Chip Walker, president and CEO, SSi LLC/PRO*ACT, Monterey, California;
  • Mexico Council Chair – Adelina Metodieva, CEO, Zeliotech Mineral Fertilizers, Cuernevaca, Mexico;
  • Supply Chain Council Chair – Steve Alaerts, director, Foodcareplus NV, Antwerp, Belgium; and
  • Sustainability Council Chair – Rachel Depree, head of sustainability, Zespri, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand.

At Large Representatives

  • Tim Bulow, president and COO, Mission Produce, Oxnard, California;
  • Hein Deprez, co-CEO, Greenyard, Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium;
  • Elliott Grant, CEO, Mineral (an Alphabet Company), Mountain View, California;
  • Lam Lin, group strategy lead, Joy Wing Mau Group, Shenzen, China;
  • Anna Lopez, VP of produce, H-E-B Grocery, San Antonio, Texas;
  • Ruth McLennan, chief merchant cold storage, The DFI Group, Singapore;
  • Bas Pellenaars, commercial director LATAM, Dümmen Orange, Miami, Florida;
  • Oleen Smethurst, VP of produce, Loblaw, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; and
  • Rodolfo Spielmann, president and CEO, NatureSweet, San Antonio, Texas.

Board directors completing their service are:

  • Melissa Ackerman, CEO, Planet Harvest;
  • Amelie Aust, owner, board vice-chair, Fall Creek Farm and Nursery;
  • Ernesto Cardona, CEO, Austral Trading;
  • Nikki Cossio, founder and CEO, Measure to Improve LLC;
  • Jose Antonio Gomez, CEO, Camposol;
  • Jamey Higham, president and CEO, Idaho Potato Commission;
  • Jeff Huckaby, CEO, Grimmway Enterprises Inc.;
  • Zak Lafitte, president, Wonderful Citrus;
  • Gilson Lucato Jr., commercial director, Citricola Lucato;
  • Dan Mathieson, CEO, Zespri International;
  • Julie Olivarria, VP of produce, Sysco Corporation;
  • James Rogers, CEO, Apeel Sciences;
  • Debora Steier, VP of floral, Albertsons Companies;
  • Bruce Taylor, CEO, Taylor Farms;
  • Debby Walker, VP of purchasing and analytics, Darden;
  • Dorn Wenninger, SVP of produce, UNFI; and
  • Drew Zabrocki, general manager, value chain insights and interoperability, Semios.

About the author

Sommer Stockton

Web Editor

Sommer joined The Shelby Report in January 2022 after graduating from Brenau University in Gainesville, GA with a B.A. and M.A. in Communications and Media Studies. Sommer is excited to learn about the grocery industry and share her findings with The Shelby Report's readers!

Featured Photos

Featured Photo IDDBA Annual Convention
George R. Brown Convention Center
Houston, TX