Home » NGA Foundation Announces 2022 Scholarship Recipients
Association News National

NGA Foundation Announces 2022 Scholarship Recipients

NGA foundation logo

The NGA Foundation, the nonprofit of the National Grocers Association, has announced the recipients of its 2022 scholarship program. This year, 18 students planning careers with independent grocers received scholarships, provided by the generosity of the foundation’s donors and affiliate groups.

“We are proud to ensure that our industry’s future will be in good hands by assisting these talented individuals in their pursuit of higher education and career goals,” said Chelsea Matzen, director of the foundation. “We also applaud our members for their ongoing investment in grocery’s next generation of leaders.”

At the core of the NGA Foundation grants are the Asparagus Club scholarships, which have been offered by the club since its inception in 1967. The Asparagus Club Scholarship Fund has awarded more than $1 million to students pursuing careers in the independent grocery industry.

Legacy scholarships are awards given in the names of people who contribute to the fund each year. These scholarships are designed to acknowledge and continue the legacy of those individuals and organizations and their contribution to the independent grocery industry.

Students may apply for scholarships starting each January until the deadline in April. Scholarships are open to full-time enrolled college and post graduate students with a minimum 2.5 GPA and plans to pursue a career in the independent grocery industry. NGA Foundation scholarships are merit based, although financial need is taken into consideration.

Scholarships are managed by the NGA Foundation and selected by independent committees of reviewers. Winners are notified in August.

The recipients of the NGA Foundation 2022 scholarships are as follows:

  • Asparagus Club ($2,000) – Eli Samuels, Gregory Cooper, Nathan Frank, Zea Juarez-Safran and Jack Wold;
  • Asparagus Club – Thomas K. Zaucha Award ($2,500) – Adam Meier;
  • Bob Richardson Legacy Scholarship ($1,000) – Elizabeth Michelle Hart;
  • Charlie and Becky Bray Legacy Scholarship ($2,500) – Stephen Paul Stresow;
  • Della Noce Family Diversity Scholarship ($1,500) and the Mary Macey WGA Scholarship ($1,500) – Karla Ash;
  • Ecolab Women in Grocery ($2,000) – Courtney Moore;
  • FMS Solutions Legacy Scholarships ($3,000) – Hailey Granich and William Taylor;
  • Kimberly Clark Legacy Scholarship ($2,500) – Brianna Smith;
  • Mondelēz International Legacy Scholarship ($2,500) – Maggie Rose Flaherty;
  • Peter and Jody Larkin Legacy Scholarship ($2,500) – Colby Osner;
  • Roger Collins Leadership Scholarship ($1,000) – Nisha McDonald;
  • Ronnie Horton Legacy Scholarship ($1,250) – Drew Saluga; and
  • Women Grocers of America ($2,500) – Oforiwaa Pee Agyei-Boakye.

Featured Photos

Featured Photo PLMA Annual Private Label Trade Show
Donald E. Stephens Convention Center
Chicago, Illinois
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap