Home » Melillo Next Chair Of California Grocers Association
Association News West

Melillo Next Chair Of California Grocers Association

Lynn Melillo, board chair of the California Grocers Association.
Lynn Melillo

Lynn Melillo, VP of asset management for Bristol Farms, was elected to a one-year term as chair of the California Grocers Association’s board of directors during the organization’s annual meeting Dec. 1. 

The association comprises more than 350 retail companies, operating more than 6,000 stores in the West. As chair, Melillo will help oversee California Grocers Association’s many legislative, educational and industry-related programs. She succeeds Dennis Darling, owner of Foods Etc. 

“Lynn’s robust career in grocery has equipped her with intimate knowledge of the industry and CGA’s legislative priorities,” said Ron Fong, president and CEO. 

“Her passion and dedication will serve our members and industry well over the next year.” 

Melillo has more than 40 years of experience in the grocery industry, having spent the last 28 years at Bristol Farms. In her current role, she oversees compliance, customer and employee safety, loss prevention and insurance and risk for Bristol Farms, Lazy Acres and New Leaf Community Markets. 

Melillo also participates on California Grocers Association’s enterprise risk protection and government relations committees.

In addition to Melillo, several people were elected to the 2023-24 CGA Board of Directors’ executive committee: 

  • First Vice Chair: Steve Dietz, UNFI; 
  • Second Vice Chair: Michel LeClerc, North State Grocery; 
  • Treasurer: Richard Wardwell, Superior Grocers; 
  • Secretary: Jonson Chen, Tawa Supermarket, Inc.; and
  • Immediate Past Chair: Dennis Darling, Foods Etc.

Directors elected to their first full three-year team include: 

  • Gary Bickmore, FMS Solutions; 
  • Kevin Young, Young’s Payless IGA; 
  • JR Medina, Super A Foods; 
  • Rocky Campbell, C&K Markets; 
  • Joe Toscano, Nestle Purina PetCare; 
  • Jeremy Runge, Gopuff; 
  • Brad Thomas, Kimberly-Clark Corp.; 
  • Casey Scharetg E. & J. Gallo Winery; and
  • Nick Sass, The Hershey Co.

Directors elected to their second full three-year term include: 

  • Elaina Budge, Costco Wholesale; 
  • Tyler Kidd, Mar-Val Food Stores Inc.; 
  • Diane Snyder, Whole Foods Market; 
  • Kelli McGannon, The Kroger Co.; 
  • Mary Kasper, 99 Cents Only Stores; and
  • Josh Southerland, Reyes Coca-Cola Bottling. 

Elliott Stone, Mollie Stone’s Markets, was re-elected chair of the Executive Committee-Independent Operators Committee. 

Former CGA Chair Renee Amen, Super A Foods, was elected an honorary board member.

Read more association news from The Shelby Report.

About the author

Sommer Stockton

Web Editor

Sommer joined The Shelby Report in January 2022 after graduating from Brenau University in Gainesville, GA with a B.A. and M.A. in Communications and Media Studies. Sommer is excited to learn about the grocery industry and share her findings with The Shelby Report's readers!

Featured Photos

Featured Photo IDDBA Annual Convention
George R. Brown Convention Center
Houston, TX